Let’s just say you have a little bit of extra cash lying around and want to go see a movie this weekend.  Go see Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World.  Now, I will readily admit that this movie is like a grooved fastball right down the middle to a geek familiar with the early days of Nintendo.  Only that kind of person can truly appreciate how awesome it is that someone turns into coins when they ‘die.’  Aside from having a built-in appeal to that particular audience it also deals with universal themes in the movie, such as love, loss, and ass-kicking.  I would put the fight scenes in this movie up against anything The Expendables has to offer.  They are absolutely crazy.  Like the Matrix on some sort of hallucinogenic.  Edgar Wright (director) is really one to watch.  Between this and Shaun of the Dead, he’s earned my trust.

Speaking of battles to the death, here is the latest progress on Cubicleism Vs. Edward Hopper’s Nighthawks.  Pardon the glare from the standard issue oppressive halogens overhead.  It’s getting down to brass tacks at this point.  The finish line is in sight.  Whatever cliche’ you want to use is fine but it means I’m almost done.  The people are getting more refined (except the guy behind the bar) and the inside of the diner is beginning to come together.  I think for now I am going to focus on getting the inside done.  There are still some things on the outside of the building and street that I need to get to but those will be more like finishing touches.  My markers are really starting to go south so I might have to make a special trip to the supply store very soon.  Maybe I’ll get the ‘good’ dry erase markers, if there is such a thing.

