The Devil is in the details

As promised, here is a close-up of the cardplayer’s face on the far right of the painting.  I have done a few additions since this photo but it should give you the general idea of the style I’m going for this time around.  All the hatching should give that looseness that I’m try to mimic from the painting.  The mediums are completely different, of course, so I can only get it so close but I think this will end up being effective.  The real test will be the background because it’s a big flat space with not much going on, save for some patchy spots of differing color.  I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.  🙂

Leave a Reply

