Cold-decked

It seems fitting that the guys in this painting are wearing coats.  The weather is turning here and we haven’t really eased into Fall at all.  There was literally a 20 degree drop in one day.  Bizarre.  Whatever.  I’ve been looking forward to a respite from 90+ weather and now I have my wish.  Another fitting thing about the subject matter of this work is that each year I go on a trip with a bunch of buddies to the beach, where we do nothing but shoot the shit, drink beer, play cards, etc.  It’s a good getaway and the trip is coming up in a couple of weeks.  This painting sort of feels like an old-time version of that.  Very much looking forward to it.

This piece seems to be a swan song of sorts for my favorite marker.  It’s really the secret weapon marker that allows me a great deal of latitude when it comes to achieving certain values that would otherwise be difficult to attain.  I think I have found a trick for altering one of the other markers to fill the void.  We’ll see how it turns out, hopefully it will work.  I can’t tell what it is though… the magician has to keep some of his tricks a secret.  🙂   So, bon voyage, marker with the blue trim.  You’ve done yeoman’s work.

Leave a Reply

