‘New Art’

When I started doing famous artworks on the whiteboard, there were two artists in particular I wanted to represent at some point.  The first was Cezanne and the second is Alphonse Mucha.  I’ve always thought Art Nouveau was an amazing style but it took a comic artist named Adam Hughes to make me fully appreciate it.  I know that sounds a little backwards but his Art Nouveau influence is very evident in a lot of his cover work and especially in his convention sketches.  I decided to try an Art Nouveau piece this time around and you’d be amazed at how few Muchas there are in landscape orientation.  I could do one of the portrait-style ones but the size would be severely limiting.  Here’s the beginning of roughing out ‘Amants.’

One thought on “‘New Art’

Leave a Reply

