Welcome, all.

Well, this last week certainly has been interesting…  The blog went somewhat viral from someone posting it on Reddit, I think.  It just shows the unpredictability of the internet, as I actually posted this blog to Reddit myself a few months ago.  Why it suddenly took off now is anyone’s guess but I certainly appreciate everyone who’s taken the time to look through the scribbles and share it with others.  The response has been overwhelmingly positive, aside from the totally unsurprising “He must never do any work” comments.  It would probably be my reaction as well, seeing all the works laid out in a row like that.  The reality is that it’s taken 2 years to do 17 of them.  Some days I don’t even touch it.  It’s rare that I get a section done that is any larger than a fist on any given day.  It’s VERY slow going, but there’s something I enjoy about that.  I’ll repost this from the About page just to answer a few questions:

In case you were wondering…

1.  I only do this for 2-5 minutes a day, usually first thing while the computer is firing up.  I don’t spend all day doing this as I’d like to keep my job.  🙂  Some days I don’t do any work on it.

2.  They average taking about 6 weeks to finish.  Slow going but it’s a good exercise in patience.

3.  I buy my own markers so I’m not depleting our company’s dry erase marker supply.

4.  I’m not using any special markers, just your run of the mill Quartet, Marks-a-lot, etc.

5.  It’s less painful erasing them than you think… I’m usually excited to get to the next one.

6.  Always looking for requests and ideas.

Thanks again for stopping by!  Now, on to the latest work in progress, Emil Friant’s Discussion Politique.  I’m actually a lot further along than this on it but I just haven’t loaded up those photos yet.  Here’s an early stage pic  where you can see the (very) rough layout and the beginning of the detail on the figures.

3 thoughts on “Welcome, all.

  1. I love what you’re doing. It got posted on underconsideration.com/quipsologies. That’s where I found it. It’s an aggregate of a bunch of cool graphic design/art things that people find. Keep it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

