Now, where’s my damn medal?

Have you ever seen those videos of the poor runner, completely dehydrated with jelly-legs trying to stay upright to cross the marathon finish line at the Olympics?  Finishing this piece is a bit like that for me.  I was Scott’s roommate when he painted this originally and it looked like a pain then.  I’ve gained even more respect for him and this painting after doing this.  The crazy thing is, he went back later and ‘touched it up,’ which basically meant painting it AGAIN.  What?!  Glutton for punishment, if you ask me.

I’m just glad I got to complete it and snap the pic before some act of the cosmos messed it up.  Now I get to turn my attention to the NCAA tourney and my beloved Heels.  Also, I did decide to do Alice in Wonderland as the next whiteboard work, so keep your eyes peeled for that.  I’m hoping to work up some sort of time-lapsed video of the next one if I can get it set up.

A few days ago, I needed some more markers so I bought a pack of some that I’d never tried before.  They have the sharpest, finest point I’ve seen yet.  My inner whiteboard artist squeeees with excitement.  🙂

6 thoughts on “Now, where’s my damn medal?

  1. Back in the ’70s, a future housemate of mine did an Alice with the opium smoking caterpillar on the wall in the non-frat I later lived in. I think its still there. Was a few years ago, anyway. Looked great.

    Ever consider one of those interactive whiteboards? You could even work in 3D. Hmm…rotating Michaelangelo’s David set in your cube like one of those repeating mirror pictures.

    If a time comes (perish the thought) when you are no longer between layoffs, maybe you could do murals.

    1. Interactive whiteboards? I need to check that out. 🙂

      Someone else mentioned murals to me too… They are sort of intimidating, not sure if I’m ready for that yet. (But I won’t know til I try, I guess)

Leave a Reply

