From historical to ridiculous in 0.4 seconds. SPOON!

There’s no beautiful segue for going from Renoir to Ben Edlund’s The Tick so I’m not even going to try.  The fact of the matter is that after tackling Renoir I wanted do something a lot more fun and it doesn’t get much more fun than The Tick.  For the unfamiliar, The Tick was an independent comic that was turned into an animated series on Fox in the mid-90s.  He’s totally crazy, very strong, and rambles incessantly.  I found a really cool Tick image to do and I picked it mainly because the background was so great and challenging.  Here are the humble beginnings…

thetickwip1

thetickwip2

10 thoughts on “From historical to ridiculous in 0.4 seconds. SPOON!

  1. Reblogged this on Rambles, Rants and Randomness and commented:
    Bill Taylor works in a cubicle. He also makes awesome dry-erase art and posts it to WordPress. I am a fan.

    Recently he finished a Renoir, and was looking for a subject that’s a little more lighthearted. I suggested the Tick. Much to my delight and surprise, he followed that suggestion!

    Here is the initial work. I’ll reblog as it progresses so you can enjoy it as much as I do. 😀

Leave a Reply

